Woodstock 40th Anniversary

Some of you already knew what I was basically doing for the last one and a half years. All others could watch the result (in case you understand German language) on Tuesday, August 11, 2009, 11 p.m. on WDR-TV-Germany: “Woodstock – Birth Of A Legend” is a documentary film that tries to explain why a chaotically planned rock-festival 60 miles from Woodstock, NY is still an issue even 40 years later; why the participants still get bright eyes when they talk about their Woodstock-experiences. Because the Woodstock Music & Art Fair in August of 1969 is not only the most famous rock-festival of all times but the mother of all festivals. It’s Woodstock all other events of this kind have to compete with since. Even though there were hundreds of other festivals before and since, only Woodstock became a legend.
In the film Woodstock-veterans talk about what created this legend. There are the three surviving producers of the festival: Michael Lang, Artie Kornfeld & Joel Rosenman, members of the stage-crew, photographers, musicians, locals from Bethel., NY, where the event actually took place and ordinary visitors of the festival. For the first time on camera are Arnold Skolnick, the creator of the famous Woodstock-poster and Sam Yasgur, son of farmer Max Yasgur, on whose land the festival took place.
A very crucial part in the creation of the legend became the academy-award-winning Woodstock-movie of director Michael Wadleigh. So he’s talking about his experiences as well as other people of the film-crew. You could see his film in the Director’s Cut-version with German subtitles, which is about 40 minutes longer than the 3 hours plus original-movie, in the night from Saturday to Sunday, August 16 at 0.05 a.m. also on WDR-TV-Germany. Have fun watching. Comments are welcomed, of course!

Woodstock-music you’d find under “various artists” in the “Psychedelic/ Westcoast”-section and under “Japanese & audiophile pressings”.

Woodstock 40th Anniversary

Einige haben es ja bereits mitbekommen, womit ich in den letzten anderthalb Jahren vorwiegend beschäftigt war. Alle anderen können sich das Ergebnis am Dienstag, 11. August 2009 um 23.00 Uhr im WDR-Fernsehen ansehen: „Woodstock – Wie der Mythos entstand“ ist ein Dokumentarfilm, der versucht zu klären, warum ein chaotisch organisiertes Rockfestival in der Nähe von Woodstock selbst 40 Jahre später noch ein Thema ist. Warum bekommen die Teilnehmer immer noch leuchtende Augen, wenn sie über ihre Erfahrungen in Woodstock reden? Weil die Woodstock Music & Art Fair im August 1969 nicht nur das berühmteste Rock-Festival aller Zeiten ist, sondern bis heute als die Mutter aller Festivals gilt. An Woodstock müssen sich seitdem alle anderen Veranstaltungen dieser Art messen lassen. Und obwohl es vorher und nachher Hunderte anderer Festivals gab, ist nur Woodstock zu einem Mythos geworden.

Im Film erzählen Woodstock-Veteranen, was zu diesem Mythos beigetragen hat. Zu Wort kommen die drei noch lebenden Organisatoren des Festivals: Michael Lang, Artie Kornfeld und Joel Rosenman. Außerdem Mitarbeiter der Veranstalter, Fotografen, Musiker, Bewohner des Örtchens Bethel im US-Staat New York, wo das Festival stattfand und einfache Besucher. Erstmals äußern sich Arnold Skolnick, der Designer des berühmten Woodstock-Posters, und Sam Yasgur, der Sohn von Max Yasgur, auf dessen Land das Festival stattfand, vor einer Kamera.

Ganz wesentlich hat auch der oskar-prämierte Dokumentarfilm „Woodstock – 3 Tage des Friedens und der Musik“ von Michael Wadleigh zur Legende von Woodstock beigetragen. Deshalb kommen neben dem Regisseur auch andere am Film Beteiligte zu Wort. Den Film selbst könnt ihr in der Nacht von Samstag auf Sonntag, 16.August um 0.05 Uhr ebenfalls im WDR-Fernsehen sehen in der deutsch untertitelten Director’s Cut-Fassung, die gut 40 Minuten länger als der ursprüngliche Film (von über 3 Stunden Länge) ist. Ihr dürft mir natürlich gerne mitteilen, wie’s Euch gefallen hat.

Die Musik zum Festival findet Ihr unter Various Artists in der Abteilung „Psychedelic/ Westcoast“ und unter „Japanese & audiophile pressings“.

One thought on “Woodstock 40th Anniversary”

  1. !!!!WOW!!!

    War völlig begeistert vom Film, viel Neues gesehen, gehört und erfahren… einfach erstklassig, besonders die vielen diversen Blickwinkel!

    Greez, Klaus

Comments are closed.