ORACLE RECORDS proudly presents: IRISH COFFEE live in Kempen

Irish Coffee KuBa 2018Oracle Records is proud to present Belgium Hardrock legend Irish Coffee live on stage. At July 14, 2018 original singer William Souffreau and his pals are gonna play the Kulturbahnhof (KuBa) Kempen (west from Krefeld). It’s gonna be their only concert in Germany and their second ever this side of the border!

Hardrock-connoisseurs rate Irish Coffee not only one of the best of their country but their first and long time only album from 1971 is regarded in the same reference-class as classic LPs by Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Deep Purple or Uriah Heep. Originals of this album easily fetch 4-digits price-tags nowadays if one is offered at all! Irish Coffee originally played the classic line-up of 2 guitars, keyboards, bass and drums, although they sounded less than their British counterparts but more with a certain Krautrock-charm (despite their origin) like a mixture of Birth Control and early Scorpions. Their main trademarks are the voice of William Souffreau, who’s also responsible for most of their material. He can still claim to be one of the best Hardrock-singers in the world. Plus there’s guitarist Jean van der Schueren who didn’t play the usual Hardrock-riffs but fantastic fluid licks that perfectly fit the melodies. The original band split in 1974 after keyboarder Paul Lambert was killed in a tragic car-crash..

It took them ‘til 2002 to reunite Irish Coffee. Unfortunately without Jean van der Schueren, who’s now a music teacher at a Belgian university. Meanwhile also the keyboards have been replaced by a third guitar but Irish Coffee still retain their distinctive sound due to the trademark-voice of William Souffreau.

 

If you don’t want to drive yourself or have a few drinks I’d recommend the good old railway even though this means of transport usually ain’t first choice in Germany. But the train runs right up to the club’s door and you have to walk only 10 steps to be there. Plus you could get home as late as 2 a.m. from Kempen via Krefeld to the Ruhrgebiet-area or Cologne or north to Nijmegen/NL. The entrance-fee is 15.- Euro but there’s a maximum capacity of 200 visitors. You simply can’t squeeze any more into the location! So be there in time, I’d be happy to welcome you to this event!

The street-adress of Kulturbahnhof Kempen is: Am Bahnhof 7, 47906 Kempen, Tel.: +49-2152 – 510 879

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

ORACLE RECORDS proudly presents: IRISH COFFEE live in Kempen

Irish Coffee KuBa 2018Oracle Records ist stolz, die belgische Hardrock-Legende Irish Coffee live auf der Bühne präsentieren zu können. Am 14.Juli 2018 werden die Mannen um Original-Sänger William Souffreau im Kulturbahnhof (KuBa) Kempen am Niederhein (westlich von Krefeld) ein einmaliges Konzert in Deutschland geben (ihr zweites überhaupt diesseits der Grenze!!).

Irish Coffee gilt unter Liebhabern des Genres nicht nur als eine der besten Bands, die Belgien je hervorbrachte, sondern ihre erste und lange Zeit einzige LP von 1971 zählt zu den Referenzalben in der Klasse Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Deep Purple oder Uriah Heep. Originale dieser Platte erzielen heute auf dem Sammlermarkt problemlos 4-stellige Eurobeträge, wenn sie überhaupt mal angeboten wird. Ursprünglich in der klassischen Besetzung 2 Gitarren, Keyboards, Bass, Schlagzeug klingen Irish Coffee aber weniger wie die bekannten englischen Hardrock-Klassiker, sondern eher nach einer Mischung aus Birth Control und alten Scorpions, haben also trotz ihrer Herkunft eher einen Hauch von Deutschrock-Charme. Herausragende Solisten sind Sänger William Souffreau, der bis heute von sich behaupten darf, einer der besten Hardrock-Sänger weltweit zu sein und der Gitarrist Jean van der Schueren, der statt der üblichen Hardrock-Riffs wunderbar perlige Gitarrenläufe spielt, die sich perfekt um die jeweilige Melodie legen. Die ursprüngliche Band löst sich 1974 auf, nachdem Keyboarder Paul Lambert bei einem Autounfall ums Leben kam.

Es dauert bis 2002, ehe sich Irish Coffee wieder zusammenfindet. Jean van der Schueren ist heute leider nicht mehr dabei (er ist heute Musiklehrer an einer belgischen Hochschule) und die Keyboards mussten inzwischen einer dritten Gitarre weichen, aber durch die Trademark-Stimme von William Souffreau klingen Irish Coffee immer noch unverwechselbar!

Auch wenn dieses Verkehrsmittel in Deutschland sonst nicht gerade erste Wahl ist, kann ich für dieses Konzert zur Anreise ausnahmsweise mal die gute alte Bahn empfehlen. Der Zug fährt bis vor die Tür des Kulturbahnhofs. Bis in den Club sind’s gerade mal 10 Schritte! Und man kommt problemlos bis 2 Uhr nachts wieder weg Richtung Krefeld, Ruhrgebiet oder Köln. Der Eintritt beträgt 15.- Euro, die Kapazität ist allerdings auf 200 Besucher beschränkt!! Mehr passen einfach nicht in den Kulturbahnhof! Also seid zeitig da. Ich würde mich freuen, Euch zu diesem Anlass begrüßen zu dürfen!

Die Straßenadresse des Kulturbahnhofs lautet: Am Bahnhof 7, 47906 Kempen, Tel.: 02152 – 510 879

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*