Irish Coffee 2015

WHEN THE OWL CRIES

Irish Coffee - When The Owl Cries
When The Owl Cries

It took me a while to get some copies of the latest Irish Coffee album „When the Owl Cries“ since the record has no regular distribution, but now it’s available. After some more line-up-changes the band is a quartet now and only singer & guitar-player William Souffreau is left from the original line-up. But even though he just turned 70 he’s still at good voice so you could recognize his trademark-vocals immediately. ‘Cause he’s also playing all guitar-parts the band sounds more bluesy and earthy than on previous albums (though the 10” “Revisited” from 2013 already points to that direction!).

William Souffreau-Irish Coffee
William Souffreau

The opener “Rock On” as well as “Gotta Keep On Running”, “Here We Come” or “No Time For Dying” are all ballsy (Hard)Rock-tracks showing Souffreau’s voice to good advantage. They’re also kind of defiant commitment of a sadly still unknown band that definitely deserved more. The progressive “Decent Life” could be on their debut or the 2nd album while “Gotta Move” has Irish Coffee with the unusual sound of a Garage-band. The title-track “When The Owl Cries” is a slow Blues-creeper (for a live-version recorded in Gent/B 2015 click here:  When The Owl Cries ) and “Guitars And Beer” would be the radio-hit if a band like Irish Coffee ever had the chance to be heard on the radio. “I Hate War” picks up the issue of their best ever track “A Day Like Today” and “I’m Alive” is a re-recording of the B-side of their 3rd single “Down, Down, Down”.

Irish Coffee - When the Owl Cries
When The Owl Cries PICTURE-DISC

Of course I miss the genius lead-guitar of a Jean van der Schueren or Luc De Clus but “When The Owl Cries” still became a solid Rock album but is ultra-limited unfortunately: there’s 207 copies on black vinyl, 93 on brown vinyl and 238 Picture-Discs which I regard a bit disproportionate considering the small run of total copies.

 

 

You’d find “When the Owl Cries” and other stuff by IRISH COFFEE here:  Irish Coffee

Irish Coffee 2015

DER SCHREI DER EULE

Irish Coffee - When The Owl Cries
When The Owl Cries

Es hat ein wenig gedauert, weil die Platte keinen richtigen Vertrieb hat, aber jetzt ist die jüngste Irish Coffee-LP „When The Owl Cries“ endlich lieferbar! Nach einigen erneuten Umbesetzungen ist die Band inzwischen ein Quartett und von der Ur-Besetzung ist nur noch Sänger und Gitarrist William Souffreau übrig. Der ist mit seinen inzwischen 70 Jahren immer noch so gut bei Stimme, dass man den Trademark-Gesang sofort wiedererkennt. Da er jetzt auch die gesamten Gitarrenparts alleine bestreitet, klingt die Band heute bluesiger und erdiger als auf früheren Platten (wobei die 10“ „Revisited“ von 2013 bereits in diese Richtung ging!).

William Souffreau-Irish Coffee
William Souffreau

Der Opener „Rock On“ sowie „Gotta Keep On Running“, „Here We Come“ oder „No Time For Dying“ sind alle kräftige (Hard)Rock-Nummern, auf denen Souffreaus Gesang gut zur Geltung kommt und so’ne Art trotziges Bekenntnis einer leider immer noch weitgehend unbekannten Band, die im Laufe ihrer Geschichte mehr verdient hätte. Das progressive „Decent Life“ ist eher im Stil ihrer ersten oder 2.LP während „Gotta Move“ Irish Coffee im ungewöhnlichen Sound einer Garagenband präsentiert. Der Titeltrack „When The Owl Cries“ ist eine langsame Bluesrock-Nummer (für eine Live-Version aufgenommen 2015 in Gent klicke hier: When The Owl Cries) und „Guitars And Beer“ wäre durchaus Radio-tauglich, wenn eine Band wie Irish Coffee je die Chance bekäme, in einem Radioprogramm gespielt zu werden. „I Hate War“ greift die Thematik des besten Songs der Band wieder auf: „A Day Like Today“ und „I’m Alive“ ist eine Neueinspielung der B-Seite ihrer dritten Single „Down, Down, Down“.

9197
When The Owl Cries PICTURE-DISC

Natürlich vermisse ich die geniale Solo-Gitarre eines Jean van der Schueren bzw. Luc De Clus, aber „When The Owl Cries“ ist immer noch eine sehr solide Rock-LP geworden, die allerdings leider nur eine stark limitierte Auflage hat: 207 Exemplare in schwarzem Vinyl, 93 copies in braunem Vinyl und 238 copies als Picture-Disc, was ich angesichts der geringen Gesamtauflage für etwas übertrieben halte.

 

 

„When The Owl Cries“ und weitere Platten von IRISH COFFEE gibt’s hier: Irish Coffee

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*