Bevis Frond

BEVIS FROND – HOT SAUCE OR NOTHING

Bevis Frond - Example 22 (2015)
Bevis Frond – Example 22 (2015)

A new record by my old mate Nick Saloman is always worth a few extra-lines on this site. Example 22 by The Bevis Frond is exactly what the title says: the 22nd album in 30 years band-history by one of the most extraordinary Psychedelic groups of recent times. It all started when the City Of London had to pay Nick some compensation-money because he ended up with his moped in an unlighted trench of theirs. He invested the money in a porta-studio and started recording himself in his bedroom with Multitrack-recording. On the first albums by the Bevis Frond project everything from the drums, keyboards, bass, vocals to the most twisted Psychedelic-guitar since Jimi Hendrix was Nick himself. That wasn’t just cost-efficient but also had the benefit that no one could tell him what to do.

 

Adrian Shaw
Adrian Shaw

 

 

Over the next couple of years the bedroom-project finally became a real band since there wasn’t just increasing demand for live-gigs after the success of the early albums but also Nick required a better sound-quality for his albums. Since that time the former Hawkwind/Magic Muscle-bassist Adrian Shaw became a friend and permanent member of Bevis Frond. Also the drums were played now by a regular drummer. The band dedicated Example 22 to the former drummer Martin Crowley who died in 2014 from blood poisoning aged only 49 years.

 

 

 

Bevis Frond 2015 (from l to r) Dave Pearce, Adrian Shaw, Nick Saloman, Paul Simmons
Bevis Frond 2015 (from l to r)
Dave Pearce, Adrian Shaw, Nick Saloman, Paul Simmons
Bari Watts
Bari Watts

The other band-members are Dave Pearce (ex-Hawklords/Psycho Mums) on drums and Paul Simmons on 2nd guitar from the Alchemysts who played live with the band for many years now. Even Nick’s old mate Bari Watts (Outskirts Of Infinity) returned after a long time for two songs which are some of the best of the whole album (I Blame The Rain and Second Son). Of course Nick is indulging in his passion for Byrds-like-Folkrock on a couple of tracks again but most of the songs are the typical Heavy-Psychedelic with howling guitars we always loved the Frond for. The 9-minute-track Pale Blue Blood comes pretty close to Neil Young though it still distinctive Bevis Frond. Besides that there’s a nice ballad/hommage to the Austrian painter Egon Schiele. The best track of the album the guys held for the tail-end: the 7-minute Well? is exactly what we bought earlier Frond-albums for: an elegiac Psych-track like Into The Cryptic Mist, the opening-track from Tryptich, with one guitar-layer over another.

That said the 4th album since the resurrection of the Bevis Frond in 2011 doesn’t really sound new but the guys still play on a constantly high level. So there’s absolutely no reason to complain for any buyer/listener. There’s enough gettin’ worse every day! So good to hear that you still can rely one some bands!

You’re gonna find EXAMPLE 22 and other BEVIS FROND music here:  Bevis Frond

Bevis Frond

BEVIS FROND – HOT SAUCE OR NOTHING

Bevis Frond - Example 22 (2015)
Bevis Frond – Example 22 (2015)

Eine neue Platte meines alten Freundes Nick Salomon aka Bevis Frond ist auf dieser Seite immer ein paar Extra-Zeilen wert. Example 22 ist genau das, was der Titel sagt: die 22.LP in 30 Jahren Bandgeschichte einer der außergewöhnlichsten Psychedelic-Bands der jüngeren Zeit. Angefangen hat alles 1986, als die Stadt London Nick ein ordentliches Schmerzensgeld zahlen musste, weil er mit seinem Moped in eine unbeleuchtete Baugrube der Stadt gerauscht war. Diese Kohle investierte er in ein fahrbares Tonstudio und begann, sich selbst im heimischen Schlafzimmer im Multitrack-Verfahren aufzunehmen. So war auf den ersten LPs des Projekts Bevis Frond vom Schlagzeug über Keyboards, Bass, Gesang bis hin zur abgedrehtesten Psychedelic-Gitarre seit Jimi Hendrix alles Nick höchstselbst. Das war nicht nur kostengünstig, sondern hatte vor allem den Vorteil, dass ihm keiner reinquatschte.

Adrian Shaw
Adrian Shaw

 

In den nächsten Jahren wurde aus dem Schlafzimmer-Projekt dann doch eine richtige Band, denn mit dem Erfolg der ersten Platten stieg nicht nur die Nachfrage nach Live-Auftritten, sondern auch Nicks Anspruch an die Tonqualität seiner Alben. Seitdem gehört der ehemalige Hawkwind/Magic Muscle-Bassist Adrian Shaw zur festen Stammbesetzung von Bevis Frond und auch das Schlagzeug wird in der Regel von einem amtlichen Drummer bedient. Dem früheren Schlagzeuger Martin Crowley, der 2014 mit nur 49 Jahren an einer Blutvergiftung starb, ist die aktuelle Platte gewidmet.

 

 

 

Bevis Frond 2015 (from l to r) Dave Pearce, Adrian Shaw, Nick Saloman, Paul Simmons
Bevis Frond 2015 (from l to r)
Dave Pearce, Adrian Shaw, Nick Saloman, Paul Simmons
Bari Watts
Bari Watts

Die weiteren Mitstreiter auf Example 22 sind Dave Pearce (ex-Hawklords & Psycho Mums) am Schlagzeug und Paul Simmons von den Alchemysts an der zweiten Gitarre, der auch schon seit Jahren bei den Live-Gigs dabei ist. Selbst Nicks alter Kumpel Bari Watts (Outskirts Of Infinity) ist nach langer Zeit mal wieder auf zwei Tracks zu hören, die zu den Besten des Albums gehören (I Blame The Rain und Second Son). Natürlich frönt Nick gleich auf mehreren Songs wieder seiner Vorliebe für Byrds-ähnlichen Folkrock, aber die meisten Tracks fallen wie immer in die Sparte Heavy-Psychedelic mit jaulenden Gitarren. Dabei erreicht das fast 9-minütige Pale Blue Blood Neil Young’sches Format und ist trotzdem typisch Bevis Frond. Außerdem gibt es eine schöne Ballade als Hommage an den österreichischen Maler Egon Schiele. Das beste Stück der Platte haben sich die Jungs bis zum Schluß aufgehoben: Well? ist genau das, wofür wir auch frühere Bevis Frond Platten immer gekauft haben: eine elegische Psych-Nummer von über 7 Minuten im Stil von Into The Cryptic Mist, dem Eröffnungsstück von Tryptich mit einer Gitarrenspur über der anderen.

Insofern bietet das vierte Album seit der Wiederbelebung von Bevis Frond 2011 nichts wirklich Neues, aber das in einer so gleichbleibend hohen Qualität, dass man als Hörer damit äußerst zufrieden sein kann. Es gibt schließlich genug, was dauernd schlechter wird. Schön, dass auf ein paar Bands immer noch Verlass ist!

Example 22 und andere Musik von BEVIS FROND findet ihr hier:  Bevis Frond

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*